Reflections

Thinking about this life…

It goes by so, so fast.  One day you’re here and then before you know it, a simple blink of your eyes and you’re somewhere else.  I remember being 7 years old and confiding to my best friend that I was going to have 3 kids by the time I was 25.  25 seemed so far away…  and here I am 30 years old.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the hustle and bustle of the everyday grind.

Wake up early, get ready for work, feed baby, kiss baby goodbye, coffee, emails, meetings, put out fires, try to stand out in the corporate world.  Come home, enjoy every waking second you have with husband and baby, go to sleep, wake up and do it all over again.  Since I’ve gone back to work from maternity leave, I’ve found myself letting these daily operations get the best of me and seeing how fast this life is passing me by.

That’s why I’m trying to decompress.  I’m  trying to not let the little things that normally break me down get the best of me.  I’m trying to put my anxiety-ridden, perfectionist, type-A self in the backseat and I’m letting the Mama and Wife in me take the wheel from now on.  Now, at the crack of dawn when I wake up and crawl down to the tip of my bed and peer into the waking eyes of that baby as the sun creeps up, I take in every golden moment.  I relish every second.  I forget about everything else.  I get lost in her smile.  I beg for that moment to last forever and to never forget.

Life goes by so fast.  And it’s so easy to get caught up with all the hectic, insignificant things that come up.  If I can give you one piece of advice from this post, it is to never take anything for granted.  At the end of the day, I come home, hang up my coat, and take my problems, debt, and everything that went wrong that day and push it aside to make room for my family.  I push it to the back of my mind.  Because at the end of the day, at the end of this life, those things just don’t matter.

When I lay my baby down to sleep and curl up in bed with my husband and dogs and close my eyes at night, I know I have it all.  What an amazing, peculiar, and intense feeling to know that you are loved.  I am forever grateful to have all of this.

Love,
E

Leave a Reply

