Letter to my Little One

Dear Everly,

My little girl.  Today is so special.  It was one year ago, today, that I found out you existed.  Ever since then my life has been turned upside down in the best way.  It’s crazy to think that one year ago you were just a twinkle in my eye, and though I dreamed of holding you in my arms, even my wildest dreams could never compare to meeting you.

At almost 4 months old, I’ve watched you change so much.  You’ve grown out of outfits and surprised us with your strength overnight.  It feels like I just woke up from a long nap and all of the sudden you’re not the tiny, sleeping newborn that I carried home from the hospital that muggy day in August.

I’ll admit, I’ve laid in bed at night going through my phone and looking through pictures from those early days with giant, proud Mama tears flowing down my cheeks.  It’s all going by so fast but at the same time it’s pure joy.  And this is only the beginning.  We have so much ahead of us, I know that this small period of time we’ve experienced is just a tiny sliver of the pie.

We have so many fun experiences ahead of us!  Spending time in the kitchen baking cookies on cold winter nights, making French Toast breakfasts on Sunday mornings, playing dress up in my closet, taking family vacations to the beach and beyond, and experiencing all of those precious “firsts” with you.

I know you have many closets of clothes left to outgrow in your life, and that I’ll watch these little daily milestones turn into first steps and then first days of school and then later on, first love, and hopefully I’ll be there to watch you become a Mama too.  I will always look back and cherish these early days, and even when you turn into the young woman you are destined to become, know that I will always keep this memory of you, as a tiny, snuggly infant, safely anchored away in a deep place in my heart.  You are my sunshine, my sky, my world, my everything.

Love,
Your Mama

3 thoughts on “Letter to my Little One

Leave a Reply

