Adventures in Baby Food Making

Checking out the scene at Soulard Farmer's Market

We’ve been super excited to welcome Spring here at the Buehler casa, since that means dining outside on our deck, lots o’ grilling, cold adult beverages, and plenty of fresh produce.  We’re the type of crew that looks forward to hitting the farmer’s market on Saturday & bringing home whatever fresh, local fruits & veggies we can get our hands on.  This past week, we hit up Soulard with Everly in tow and were happy to get some nice picks for just under $10.  After our weekend dinner, I found myself with a few extra sweet potatoes and carrots and instead of forgetting about them until they turn to mush in our crisper… decided to take a stab at making some baby food for the little one.

I found this recipe from one of my favorite cooking blogs, Smitten Kitchen.  It was super easy and better yet, Everly LOVED it!  And so did I evidently, given that I found myself scraping the food processer clean after mixing everything up. YUM!

When I say it was easy, you had better believe it.  These days I don’t attempt to cook anything unless I can do it one-handed with a 20-lb baby on my hip.  Plus, what it cost to make a 1-2 week supply of the stuff would have bought me a whole 2-3 jars of baby food.  I put some in a container for the week and the rest went right into the freezer – pre-portioned out in covered ice cube trays for easy, weeknight meals.

Here’s the Recipe:

Moroccan Sweet Potato & Carrots

3/4 pound yam, peeled and diced into 1/2-inch cubes (I used about 2 large sweet potatoes)
1 pound carrots, sliced into 1/2-inch rounds
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon cumin
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon coriander (Didn’t have this one so I just substituted a little more cumin & cinnamon)
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
Few scrapings of lemon zest
3/4 cup water or vegetable broth

Bring everything to a boil together, then reduce to a simmer and cook with a lid on for about 30 to 35 minutes, until the ingredients are easily mashed with the back of a fork. Puree to your desired texture & adjust seasonings.

It was a balmy 80-something degrees Sunday night so we decided to eat dinner on the back deck with cold beers and our naked baby.  Under blue skies and a St. Louis sunset, Everly sat in just a cloth diaper and swung her legs back and forth in approval of her treat,  even making little “nom nom nom” sounds – it was adorable!  I think I found a new hobby – I just can’t wait to make more!

Nom-Nom Potato Face

Recipe via Smitten Kitchen

Oh yeah, can you please vote for us by clicking the brown link below?  We’d love you to pieces.
Click To Vote For Us @ the Top Baby Blogs Directory! The most popular baby blogs

One thought on “Adventures in Baby Food Making

Leave a Reply

