My First Mother’s Day with Everly


It sounds very cliche, but I couldn’t help feeling the least bit giddy on Mother’s Day Eve.  As I tucked Evy in her crib the night before, I thought about how the years to come may be greeted with handmade Mother’s Day cards, flowers picked from our garden, and breakfast-in-bed operations headed up by Everly, her Papa, and any other kiddos that might come along later.

Mother’s Day morning came along with everything I had wanted and more.  Extra morning snuggles with Ev and the pups, getting to see my own Mom (and the best Mama in the world, might I add), brunch with family, followed by a little impromptu shopping trip (for a few special Mother’s Day treasures for moi) and an afternoon BBQ outing with the pups.  By the time the sun was setting, we had Miles Davis on the record player and a soapy, wet baby in our tub, I couldn’t hide my permanent smile from enjoying such a perfect, first Mother’s Day.

Besides her own Mama, Everly is so incredibly lucky to have so many strong women that will play a major role in her life.  She had two Grandmas (Ellen and Lin), a Great Grandma (GG), some very special Aunts and Great Aunts (you all know who you are), and many close friends who are like family to us and treat Everly like one of their own children. To all the Mothers, Grandmother’s, Aunts, soon-to-be Mamas, and anyone who’s ever played a motherly role in someone’s life or dreams to someday, thank you from the bottom of my heart for all that you do.  You truly make the world go round and this post is for you.  I know I might be a tad bit late with posting this but Happy (belated) Mother’s Day, ladies.

Click To Vote For Us @ the Top Baby Blogs Directory! The most popular baby blogs

One thought on “My First Mother’s Day with Everly

Leave a Reply

