Letter to my Father

10.28.80 My Mom, Dad, and me.

Dad,

I’m not sure if you realize this or not, but I would not be where I am today had I not had you in my life.  Ever since I was a little one myself, you’ve always been my biggest supporter, my toughest critic, and the person who truly made me believe that I could do anything I wanted to as long as I put my heart and soul into it.

I remember when I was very young and in the car driving with you to pick up a newspaper after church.  I sat across from you in our grey station wagon as you unrolled the Sunday paper and placed the front page on my lap.

“Read that page to me,” you said, taking a sip of your black coffee.  Mind you, I was at a reading age, but nowhere near the level capable of reading any type of newspaper.  You didn’t care.  I had no idea what the words meant that I was sounding out, no idea if the phrases I was saying made any type of sense or not, and struggled to get through it.  “Keep going,” you told me.  And I did.

It sounds silly but this little Sunday activity laid the foundation for everything else I would ever attempt in my personal and professional life.  Going back to college, writing my senior thesis, making a career change, speaking my mind in a boardroom, becoming a parent myself.  So many things scared the crap out of me and seemed so unattainable, yet I always had that drive to keep pushing forward, no matter what I was up against.

So today, Dad, and every day, Thank You, from the bottom of my heart for playing such a key role in my upbringing.  You are one heck of a father and an even better Grandpa to Everly.  Happy Father’s Day!

Love,
Erin

Click To Vote For Us @ the Top Baby Blogs Directory! The most popular baby blogs

Leave a Reply

