11. Months. Old.

Everly Grace is just one month away from her one year birthday and I could not be more smitten with this sweet baby girl.  It’s amazing to have been able to watch her transition from a tiny, sleeping newborn to the inquisitive free spirit that she is now.  Seeing the world through Ev’s eyes has made me a better person and reminded me how much I love the little things in life.  With her by my side, I am truly living life to its fullest.

Marty and I are just loving this age, here are a few reasons why:

Kisses and snuggles:
Ev reaches for us when she wants us close, which melts our hearts and is the best thing EVER.  She hugs and rubs her face on our neck, and is starting to give us kisses, softly opening her little mouth when we lean in to smooch her face.  It’s adorable!

Baby Language:
When we ask Everly a question or comment on something, she will look us square in the eye and put her two cents in.  We have no idea what she’s saying, but she definitely says it with conviction.  I think I’ve heard her trying to say “Pup-Pup” a few times, which is how we refer to our dogs around here, so stay tuned for more on that.  Other things we’ve heard: “Mama,” “Ba-ba,” “Tee-tee,” and a few other things we’re still trying to translate.

Smiles & Giggles:
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, Everly has the best baby laugh I’ve ever heard in my life – it’s absolutely infectious and I’m pretty sure there is some type of switch it activates in my brain that makes me utterly happy every time I hear it.  No joke.  (Bonus: When I’m having a stressful day at work, I close my eyes and channel that sound to bring me back and keep me sane.  Works like a charm every time.)  Also, smiles these days are out of control cute – with a mouth full of pearly whites (four teeth and, bottom molar, a top molar, and another bottom molar coming in), it wins us over every time.

Almost Walking, But Not Quite:
Everly has taken THREE steps on her own and is so close to walking.  She loves cruising on things that move these days (walking toys or even our giant cooler that she can push around).  We’re just days or weeks away from having a walker, so I’m just cherishing every moment I get to see Ev’s little hiney shuffling around as she crawls about our house exploring.

Everly Also…

  • Loves her binky.
  • Will never turn down a grilled cheese sandwich.
  • Loves to chew on a wash cloth during bath time.
  • Has to play with my hair and put her foot in my face when I nurse her.
  • Still takes a few naps a day.
  • Gets extra happy when she gets to snuggle in bed with us in the morning.
  • Likes her toes painted orange.
  • Always laughs when she sees herself in the mirror.

We’ve been talking to her about her upcoming first birthday and can’t wait to plan her party!  It’s right around the corner and we couldn’t be more excited!

Love,
E

2 thoughts on “11. Months. Old.

  1. I love that picture of Marty and Everly in the creek. Once she gets the idea of walking there will be no stopping here.

  2. That photo with her washcloth is so adorable! She’s so cute, and growing like a weed! Gosh, it feels like we just had your baby shower…scary how time flies. My niece is 2 months behind Miss Ev, and it’s amazing what they can learn to do in just a month, sometimes even a week! It’s awesome she’s taking a few naps in the day, makes for a happier baby! Just wait until she starts walking, life as you know it will change for ever.

Leave a Reply

